Bone Collecting at Stanage Pole

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

My Peak loving friend Nikki recently told me about a dead sheep she passed on a run recently at Stanage Pole. It may sound strange but carcasses out here are like hot cakes, well a carcass with a full skull and horns is anyway. Bone collectors love them and that includes me.

She advised me to wait a while seeing as it was still quite fleshy and laid right in the bog. So I did, I didn’t go find it immediately but left it out in the open. I didn’t want to wait too long though or someone else would no doubt nab it. I realise how ridiculous it must sound to be in competition with strangers for a disgusting dead sheep head! 

So after a month I decided to go out and find it. I drove out on a lovely misty morning with a carrier bag and gloves in my backpack. It’s typical, I didn’t see a single soul the whole time – could hardly see through the fog anyway – and then as soon as I saw it and was getting ready to haul that shit outta there, some man and his son walk by and see it too! I had to pretend to just be casually walking by until they’d disappeared into the fog and the coast was once again clear!

All was well in the end though and I had a lovely walk back with my bag o’ bones in tow! (the lower jaw became detached in the struggle to pull it from the neck, oops)

My favourite time to be out in the Peak District is when it’s foggy like this. I love how eerie it is. At one point I walked past a wooded area which seemed to be glowing with a bright light from the other side. It looked like some other World!

IMG_1682

Processed with VSCO with g3 presetIMG_1672

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

 

I’ll keep you updated with how the cleaning process goes

🙂

One thought on “Bone Collecting at Stanage Pole

Leave a Reply

